top of page

I Told You So, But I Can't Really

Updated: Jun 4, 2020


Ever felt the need to say “I told you so” but, you knew the moment was never appropriate enough? Same. And if you’re anything like me, you still can’t urge the words to say “I told you so”. And feel even a bit of pride. Even though you were right, you still can’t find a way to claim your throne.


As a being of pretty big emotions, I can’t help but to spare feelings of those around me. Why is this? Well, I really don’t know. You spend time leading people in the proper direction, only for it to backfire as you’d imagined. Still, I can’t say I told you so, it’s simply not of my nature. Because, if your heart is pure and emotional as mine, you empathize with everyone; every situation. Does it hurt you more than them? Well, maybe. As an empathetic person, you must only hurt for yourself sometimes. It’s sometimes better and or best.


Recently, I let someone else’s situation trouble mine. They’re fine, but why aren’t I? It’s a slap to the face. Maybe that “I told you so” wouldn’t have been so bad. Would it have affected me or them differently, perhaps us both. I’d never know, because I couldn’t seem to claim my throne. Their life is halted, and I warned them of this time and time again. Yet, well here I am in writing saying the phrase, “I told you so.”


“I Told You So”


Pros of “I told you so”, well what are they? I’m again not really sure, because I’ve never said it. “I told you so”is hard to say, and the possibilities for finally urging the phrase is endless. There isn’t a proven outcome, of expressing the phrase or not. One pro is, you may feel good about yourself in the moment. But, your friend, companion, or lover may feel troubled by the teasing of you, and have desires of wishing they’d never share their secrets, livelihood, and past. The pros only benefit you, the person of authority, not the person whom life has seemingly turned upside down. As you’d warned.


Cons of “I told you so”, the cycle or lifestyle will continue. Your friend, companion, or lover may fall even deeper than their previous failure. Your warning went unheard at first, so why try again a second time? The failure is a setback. It’s an eye opener, and it’s sometimes a life changer. As a person an “I told you so”, defines you and your character. You were there to witness this “I told you so” moment, you saw how distraught that person rested. And you hope this one time would be their last, because well they’re distraught; remorseful towards their action. The regret and maybe even their punishment is sucking them dry. Now do you still rather say “I told you so”, well I don’t.


My “I Told You So”, is now “How may I comfort you?” I don’t care to say “I told you so” anymore, because as a human, I understand mistakes happen. People are likely to make multiple mistakes. I saw my friend in desperate despair, and being the friend I am if you need me, I’ll forever be there. Full on. I no longer care to throw a mistake in their face, because I’ve witnessed how this mistake has torn them apart. If you’re a person who rather flaunt your proper judgement than go for it. Yet, if you’re one of passion and empathy, I’m confident in the simple ability of knowing your judgement was right, no need to flaunt it. It is already proven, and again your friend, companion, or lover knows.

What does recognition mean to you as a person?




The moment my friend’s emotion became mine, due to their situation I knew recognition of my correct judgement meant NOTHING. Their emotion mattered. Their act was unjust, though I sympathized. Again, my “I told you so” moment rest long gone. My concern troubles the bigger picture:

How are you my friend?

Yes, this mistake happened though what can WE do to better your situation?

What do you need from me as your friend?


Yes, I’ve faced “I told you so” moments, they come and go often. But, my character has remained still. I am better than recognition. What anyone lacks, troubles, and or dread affects me. What about you? The life I live is perhaps dangerous, I sympathize, give, and love until I simply can’t. Life is dangerous I’ll say, because well if you maintain something so extreme perhaps you’ll end broken. Your fight started elsewhere wrapped in someone else’s situation, though how long are you willing to hold on? When will the balance of sympathy end? And playing no one’s fool come to play? Well, finding this balance is hard I’ll admit.


Three Times The Charm..




My rule is simply three times the charm. Once your three chances at life, love, failure, success, etc ends, maybe you as a person should reconsider. We all heard of this term, “Three times the charm” what’s your take on it? Well my take is exactly the term. After three times, if you don’t have it together I no longer can assist you with anything or anyone.


The charm is rewarding. Just what if your preaching finally pays off? It’s a great feeling; better placement for that someone you love or deeply care for. The charm doesn’t come overnight. But, it takes a few tries and or miserable fails. Also, if it has a greater for someone else’s life I’m here for it. I won’t encourage anyone to stop trying, nor give up on someone in desperate need, though what about you? This lesson I write, or whatever you may call it, defines YOU as a being and the one being you’re looking after.

What’s your stand, position, and or placement in this lifetime? Are you an “I told you so” or “Three times the charm” type of person? Better yet, what makes you feel most secure at night?

-Trinade Patrick


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page