top of page

Cheers to Acceptance


Contentment (& Acceptance)

Philippians 4:11

“I have learned to be content with whatever I have.”


I was once the biggest fighter in fighting change. I fought my circumstances, reality, relationships platonic and non-platonic, education, etc. I've fought it all, you just name it. In my mind, my journey was well-crafted, pleasurable, and smooth sailing. Since this journey was perfected, how could it fail or even face adversity? That was my thing, it simply couldn't. I had done the research, I learned the math, I planned, and I was so strategic.


I knew nothing could get in my way, but me towards this journey I well planned for. I already had the pros and cons listed, I should've been good. Right?


Just how could a plan so well prepared fail or even flake a little? But, a plan that didn't center God completely could fumble with the snap of a finger, his finger at that.


I created plans that weren't orchestrated by God. I checked in with him from time to time, but never fully gave him permission to lead me and my plans.


Over the past few years I've burned myself out, completely. Fighting. Disagreeing. Finding the easiest way out. No matter the approach, the end result was always the same for me. Because I was ruled by my own force, never the higher (God).


God has allowed me to hit my head so many times, and I guess you can say I'm hardheaded. But, I've finally grown worn out. I'm ready to obey, let go, and let God lead me. Through and through.


In my memoir whenever I finally write and finish it, one important line I won't leave out is: God showed me time and time again, until I was able to get it right.


My Acceptance

Trinadè loves acceptance. I love the acceptance of invites, gifts, rewards, etc. Whatever I can accept, I want it. Don't we all? I'm willing to accept all things pleasurable, but if it's not pleasurable it's a huge, big, fat, ugly, NO! Sometimes even HELL NO! lol


But, the acceptance I need to work on and I'm becoming more intentional with is, accepting the parts of the journey I don't quite understand.


The journey that's emotional.

The journey that's confusing.

The journey that's painful.

The journey that isolates.

The journey that requires faith over sight.

The journey that makes you reflect on yourself.

The journey that stings but also brings smiles.

The journey that's unknown.


Remember the quote: “If you can't beat them, join them.” The same goes for acceptance. “If you can't change things, accept them.”

In therapy one of my biggest goals was, Acceptance, and of course I fought it like hell. I always did.


A little before and after my dad's passing, I chose to close my mouth and open my eyes and ears more for God. I'm now so hungry for his voice, reassurance, and guidance. At this point in my life more than ever, and I never plan to lose that relationship.


Through acceptance I've learned only God knows of the struggles I battle, and only HE can fix them.


I can't fast forward through my life's chaos, and no matter how strategically I plan my control is mediocre to God and his plans for me.


I am small. My problems are ants, and God hasn't taken his hand off of me nor my life. I accept my life chaos, because I'm content with God.


The goal is to submit and let God, so Cheers to Acceptance and Contentment. Especially when met with adversity..


Open your ears towards God, it's so rewarding. And the battles you're so use to fighting are won, the moment you surrender.


Why fight battles that are already God's victory?



Exodus 14:14

“The Lord shall fight for you, and you shall hold your peace.”

– Trinadè Patrick


p.s.

I wrote this days ago, but currently I'll be 21 in 2 days... hbd TP. cheers to Ms. 07/07. ♡

108 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page